What’s wrong with me?

Maybe if I write it out I will hold myself more accountable?

In my head I’m focused, and have all attentions of completing my goals. So what’s been happening with the putting it into action? Kinda feeling like a loser over here.

I signed up to train with a group that trains for half marathons/marathons. I’ve gone out to run every weekend until this abnormally hot last one. I took part in a foam rolling clinic, not that I don’t know how to use a foam roller, I just wanted to up my game/ improve my knowledge and chances of making it further in the season than I did last year.

Here is my problem. When comes to staying on track during the week, I’ve been struggling something terrible. When I say terrible believe you me, I mean TERRIBLE. I know what I need to do, it’s just the putting it into action that has not been happening. I know I can’t run once during the week, hit the weights once, and do one yoga sesh. So what’s been my deal, man?!

Actually, part of the reason has been a nice size order that was consuming much of my time. The other reason, focus? Lack of drive? The order was completed the other week and I was SO EXCITED that I would be able to get back to the grind/into the groove of things. But did that happen? No. the only thing I can attribute this to is burn out. From Jan 1st of this year until the end of May, first week of June I was in beast mode. I lost 15 lbs and was working out 4-5-6 days a week, and going HARD! When my deadline of Memorial Day weekend/anniversary came I wasn’t where I wanted to be, but I was so much better. After vacay, and the onset of the summer heat, I fell off, and have yet to get back on to the point that I should be.

I was excited when i decided to train for a half. I was even more excited when I found out I’d only have to be in the gym 2-3 days a week! I needed a break from the strenuous workouts, and bad. I found a running plan with my group. I found a strength training plan good for distance running. Woo-hoo! The only thing I haven’t found is my get up and go!

So here I am putting myself out there, hoping not to fail this week:

Run 2x during the week
Weights 2x during the week
Yoga/foam roll 2x during the week
Rest Friday
Long/group run Saturday
Rest Sunday

Doesn’t seem like a lot, but I’m having a hell of a time getting the ball in motion.

So here goes!

4 responses to “What’s wrong with me?

  1. Maybe you could try cutting back on your training schedule a little? Get back in to the swing of it and slowly re-introduce other elements of your programme?

    • i think you might be right, John. i might have tried to do too much too soon thinking i was my old self =/
      i started this week off GREAT! Monday i hit the gym for a full body weight lifting session, then did cardio after. Tuesday i ran, a great fartlek workout. By the time Wednesday rolled around i was feeling pooped and rundown. i pushed through and had an ok lifting sesh, but cardio after was a 30 min struggle =<. I was supposed to run Thursday, but ended up getting hardly any sleep Wed. night, up at 2AM and COULD NOT fall asleep. needless to say the Thursday run was shot. I feel bad, I was doing so well, almost made my weekly goal. The only thing that's keeping me from truly being more down in the dumps is that i've still felt pooped (after work slept a bit of thursday and friday away). too much too soon? prob. def gonna take your advice! Thank you! :]

  2. There’s no easy formula to get out there to train. Everyone is different and is motivated in different ways. Wishing you the best of luck.

    • true indeed! thanks so much. i’ll get it back, i almost completed my weekly goal this past week. think i just went too hard too soon. so hard to take a step back, even when we know we should.

Leave a Reply

