Foodie Friday – Mini Buffalo Chicken Balls

Hey there! Just wanted to take a quick second to share a delightful lil recipe from my Food & Wine Best of the Best cookbook. My goal is to try at least 1 new recipe a week, going for 2, but we’ll see.

I spent a nice chunk of Sunday afternoon perusing through 2 lovely cookbooks from food and wine. I made my cheat sheet full of page numbers, as in ‘take a second glance please.’ The other day I did my ‘double take’ hoping to find a meal that required ground chicken, as I had some at home I needed to use. Low and behold I came across this uber quick, super easy Mini Buffalo Chicken Balls recipe! When I say fast and easy I mean, letting the sauce cool for 10 minutes was the most time consuming element to this dish! LOVES it! Also, the balls are baked, not fried, and I used ground chicken breast, woot to the woot!

Here’s a quick picture breakdown, I find for something like this you don’t really need exact measurements, though I can provide them if you like. Here goes!

image

image

1/3 cup of hot sauce and 4 tablespoons of butter, melt in a small saucepan, let cool 10 mins.
image

While it cooled I combined a bit of celery stalk, finely diced, bread crumbs (I used panko), 1 egg, 1lb or so ground chicken (will use more and up the ingredients next time because there weren’t any leftovers and there’s just two of us!), and the cooled hot sauce mixture. I also added a bit of Mrs Dash Italian Herb Seasoning and freshly crushed black pepper
image

Mixed it with my hands, then formed these lil guys. The recipe says to bake at 450 for 15 – 20 mins, but I did a lil over 20 and they were perfect.

image

Served them with a side of spicy black beans and a spinach salad, just too easy. Enjoy!
image

2 responses to “Foodie Friday – Mini Buffalo Chicken Balls

  1. Wow! I guess I had been go grab lunch before I try to eat these pictures off the screen. Thanks for setting my weekend menu, girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

